March

02

2018

Classical Marsalis

Music. Food. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with the wildly popular Casual Fridays series.

When a Russian conductor teams up with an American jazzman to perform classical music, the result is saxophone as you’ve never heard it before. Composed in 1934 when Alexander Glazunov was living in self-imposed exile in Paris, the Saxophone Concerto brims with homesickness, yet flows with a musical freedom impermissable in Soviet-era Russia. After performing to rave reviews with the New York Philharmonic and Toronto Symphony Orchestra, three-time Grammy award winner Branford Marsalis pairs up once again with internationally-renowned conductor Andrey Boreyko for a concert hailed by critics as an “unmitigated delight.”

5:30 PM    Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music from the Brian Asselin Quartet in the Southam Hall Lobby, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails and tapas, available for purchase. All tapas are prepared by the NAC culinary team drawing inspiration from individual Casual Fridays concerts for an original and authentic flair. You can purchase tapas tickets onsite the night of the concert at a price of $8 per tapa. Tickets are valid for any Casual Fridays performance during the 2017/18 season.

7 PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited, guest concert host connects with musicians to provide a deeper understanding of the music and lets you experience the orchestra in a directly personal way.   

8:30 PM    Post-concert party in the Main Foyer, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attended the concert. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians!

Branford Marsalis

March

02

2018

Marsalis Classique

Musique. Bouchées. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

La représentation de ce programme donnée dans le cadre des Vendredis décontractés.

Lorsqu’un chef d’orchestre fait équipe avec un musicien de jazz américain pour interpréter de la musique classique, le résultat est du saxophone comme vous n’en avez jamais entendu. Composé en 1934 alors qu’Alexander Glazunov vivait dans un exil qu’il s’était imposé à Paris, le Concerto pour saxophone fleure la nostalgie tout en dégageant une liberté musicale inadmissible dans la Russie de l’époque soviétique. Après s’être attiré des éloges en se produisant avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York et l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, Brandford Marsalis, lauréat de trois prix Grammy, s’associe à nouveau au chef d’orchestre de renommée internationale Andrey Boreyko pour un concert que les critiques qualifient de délice absolu.

17 h 30   Le Prélude culinaire est OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Des tapas préparées par l’équipe culinaire du CNA seront en vente dans le Foyer de la salle Southam. Le menu original et authentique, inspiré des œuvres au programme, vous sera servi au son du Brian Asselin Quartet. Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets tapas sur place le soir du concert à 8 $ l’unité. Les billets sont valables pour toutes les représentations des Vendredis décontractés de la saison 2017/18.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité sonde la musique avec les interprètes pour permettre au public de mieux comprendre les œuvres au programme et de s’immerger dans l’expérience.   

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal - OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA!

Branford Marsalis